Maker Movement Infographic

This week in CEP 811 was a favorite of mine. We spent time exploring infographics and I was SO inspired as I was working through a fun infographic of the process of making. I couldn’t stop thinking of how this tool could be used in a million different ways in the classroom. As an added bonus, it was really fun to make! I enjoyed exploring the graphic that Piktochart had to offer and I was able to find symbols that represented each of the steps I outlined on my map. I love that they offer so many graphics for the kids to choose from and it ties in very nicely with a visible thinking activity that many teachers struggle with called Color-Symbol-Image. I can see this being a tool that could open up some doors for us with that powerful routine. I can’t wait to use this for retelling in Language Arts, life cycles in Science, and to represent the steps my mathematicians use to solve problems! As I move up a grade level next year, I am really excited to see how the kids take on this new program. I have a strong feeling that they are going to love it and this will be a highly requested project/tool throughout the year!

I was playing around with the features of Piktochart and I ended up creating the infographic that is featured below. I was thinking about the steps that I took while working on some of the projects in this class and I tried to represent the process with images and text. I liked the road map template that the site offered as I felt it fit the idea that making is a journey.

maker-education infographic

While reading Halverson’s article entitled, The Maker Movement in Education, I thought it did a nice job of introducing what this whole movement is about. I have found that many of the teachers in my school haven’t heard much about the maker movement, so I thought I would take the basic ideas from the article and put them into an infographic. I also included a few of the things the maker movement can create because I feel that it could be a motivating factor for teachers who are on the fence about the maker movement to see what some of the benefits are!

maker ed

References:

Halverson, E.R. & Sheridan, K. (2014). The maker movement in education. Harvard Educational Review, 84(4), 495-465.

Maker Movement Infographic

Leave a comment