CMS Assessment 1.0

This week in CEP 813, we began to design an assessment using a content management system. The CMS that I chose to work with was Schoology. This particular assessment was created using the discussion feature on Schoology. I used a common activity featured in my district’s math curriculum called Puzzled Penguin. These activities are typically completed in the student’s math workbook, but that method is limiting and does not make the most of this important activity. Puzzled Penguin problems require students to identify mistakes, use strategies to correctly solve the problem, and explain their mathematical thinking.

The ability to take this activity out of the math book allows students to collaborate with one another and be exposed to other ideas or methods of solving the problem.  Also, by being able to read the work of other students, the kids can continue to develop their mathematical explanations which is a focus area for many of my students. This CMS also allows me to give feedback on their discussion posts and students can also provide feedback to one another. This formative assessment not only helps me to understand where my students are at as they work to master the CCSS that aligns with this assessment, but I can also use it to help me guide my student as they learn to clearly explain their thinking.

Video

Leave a comment